> HOME     > AMBITION     > THEMES     > ALL PROJECTS     > APPLY

 

INNOVATION IN THE SERVICE OF THE OLYMPIC AND PARALYMPIC GAMES

"From the moment we committed to this project, we wanted to go above and beyond a simple sporting event, in order to turn the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games into a real opportunity for our nation. Every day this ambition is shared with all the constituents of our candidacy: first comes, naturally, the athletes themselves, add to them public institutions, financial partners, local communities & groups and last but not least our French citizens. The French people are an integral part of the construction of our project, through the process of nation-wide consultation that is taking place as part of our candidacy. Through their involvement, expertise and passion, everyone in the country is contributing to enhancing our candidacy, in a spirit of social and technological advancement. Dealing with issues related to the environment and our legacy, innovation will feed this ambition. Indeed, innovation is at the very heart of our candidacy. It is also at the heart of our project, at all levels. As an example of this, we will make the 5000 dwellings to be constructed a veritable laboratory for sustainable innovation. We will transform our regions and, in doing so, better respond to the expectations of our local populations. We will reinvent the city of tomorrow. We will offer sites that are 100% accessible to the disabled.
In order to do this, Paris 2024 is reaching out to French savoir-faire in the sector. France’s innovation sector is incredibly rich, dynamic and talented. Today we are renowned throughout the world for our ecosystem of innovation, witnessed by the presence of the French Tech network all over French soil. Paris makes for a stunning showcase in the field of technological know-how – with more than 40 incubators, 80 co-working spaces, not to mention the nearly 1500 startups created every year. Paris is experiencing extra-ordinary dynamism, garnering the envy and acknowledgement in international rankings. This is backed up by its status as world capital for “Intellectual Capital and Innovation” (Cities of Opportunity rankings, PwC, May 2014). With Le Cargo (the biggest incubator in Europe), Le Tremplin (a sports-focused innovation platform) and the imminent opening of La Halle Freyssinet and its 1000 startups, Paris is looking to consolidate its position as world capital for innovation, focusing on excellence and internationalization. This talent, this wealth, this unique know-how, we would like to value them in the guise of a Call for Proposals in the field of innovation.
We need you to unleash your potential and propose a project that is useful, different – one that will bring about sustainable change in our country and will help us to win, on the 13th of September 2017, the right to host the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games. It’s your turn to contribute to the candidacy project by answering the call. It is only by working together that we will win – get on board!"

Though it may be impossible to predict exactly how innovation will have transformed our society by 2024, current technology and usages already provide us with an idea of what the most interactive, most “experiential” and quite simply the “smartest” Olympic and Paralympic Games will look like. As such, it is fundamental to take into account these transformations from the very outset of Paris’ candidacy for the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Above all, mobilizing actors in innovation from all over the world constitutes a major asset in Paris’ candidacy. The initiatives that enhance the proposal will no doubt distinguish Paris from all the other candidates.

With this in mind, the public interest grouping (GIP) “Paris 2024” is launching an innovation project called “Smart Paris 2024”, driven by the firms Algoe and NUMA. Paris 2024’s approach is designed to be open and agile in order to integrate all forms of innovation. The bid package itself is just one step in the innovation process, which will only accelerate leading up to 2024 (if Paris is elected as the host city for the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games) and will have implications beyond the Games (legacy).

The main goal of the project “Smart Paris 2024” consists in identifying, mobilizing and analyzing all the sources of innovation which improve:

  • the experience for the spectators and participants in the Games (functions, use cases and services provided for the athletes, spectators, media outlets, delegations, partners and all local residents);
  • the quality of the sites, facilities and organization;
  • the involvement of the French citizenry, starting from the candidacy process, through the preparation phases and during the Games themselves;
  • the security, accessibility and atmosphere of the Games;
  • the legacy of the Games – providing a positive environmental, social and economic footprint.

By simultaneously addressing startups, SMEs, large corporations and non-profits from all over the world, “Smart Paris 2024 is adopting a stance that is open to all fields of innovation: mobility, security, environment, sport, retail, urban planning, leisure, spectator experience, tourism, collaboration… in order to make these Games an extraordinary worldwide event and a lever for the development of France as a nation. For further information on the potential innovative fields, visit our page on Themes.

CALENDAR

This whole innovation process is designed as part of a calendar for Paris’ candidacy for the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games.


OFFICIAL PARTNERS

L’INNOVATION AU SERVICE DES JEUX OLYMPIQUES ET PARALYMPIQUES

"Depuis le début de notre engagement, nous souhaitons dépasser le simple cadre de l’événement sportif, pour faire des Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques 2024 une opportunité pour notre pays. Cette ambition, nous la partageons au quotidien avec l’ensemble des acteurs du dossier : les athlètes bien sûr, les pouvoirs publics, nos partenaires économiques, les collectivités et bien sûr les Français, pleinement associés à la construction de notre projet, au travers du dispositif de concertation nationale lancé autour de la candidature. Par leur implication, leur expertise, leur passion, tous contribuent à renforcer notre dossier dans une démarche de progrès social et technologique. A l’image des questions environnementales ou d’héritage, l’innovation vient nourrir cette ambition. L’innovation est en effet au cœur de notre candidature. Elle est également au cœur de notre projet. Sur tous les sujets. Pour faire, par exemple, des 5 000 logements que nous construirons un laboratoire d’innovations durables. Pour transformer les territoires et ainsi répondre au mieux aux attentes des populations. Pour réinventer la ville de demain. Pour proposer des sites 100% accessibles aux personnes en situation de handicap.
Pour cela, Paris 2024 entend s’appuyer sur le savoir-faire français dans le domaine. Il est incroyablement riche, dynamique et talentueux. Nous sommes en effet reconnus aujourd’hui à travers le monde pour notre écosystème innovant, à l’instar du réseau French Tech sur l’ensemble du territoire national. Et Paris constitue une magnifique vitrine en matière de savoir-faire technologique. Avec plus de 40 incubateurs, 80 espaces de coworking, près de 1 500 start-ups qui se créent tous les ans, Paris témoigne d’un dynamisme exceptionnel, envié et salué par les classements internationaux. En témoigne son statut de capitale mondiale du « capital intellectuel et de l’innovation » (Classement Cities of Opportunity, PwC, mai 2014). Avec le Cargo (le plus grand incubateur d’Europe), le Tremplin, plateforme d’innovation dédié au sport, ou encore l’ouverture prochaine de la Halle Freyssinet et ses 1 000 start-ups, Paris aspire à consolider sa place de capitale mondiale de l’innovation, en visant l’excellence et l’internationalisation. Ce talent, cette richesse, ce savoir-faire uniques, nous souhaitons les valoriser sous la forme d’un appel à projets dédié à l’innovation.
Nous avons besoin de vous pour libérer toutes les énergies et proposer un projet utile. Différent. Celui qui changera durablement notre pays et nous fera gagner le 13 septembre 2017 le droit d’organiser les Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques en 2024. A votre tour, contribuez au projet de candidature en participant à cet appel à projet. Car c’est ensemble que nous gagnerons. Avec vous"

S'il est impossible de prédire comment l’innovation transformera la société de 2024, les technologies et usages actuels permettent déjà de rendre compte de ce que pourraient être des Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques plus interactifs, plus “expérientiel”, et tout simplement plus "Smarts". Il est donc fondamental de prendre en compte ces transformations dès la candidature de Paris aux Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2024. Et surtout, la mobilisation des acteurs de l'innovation du monde entier constitue un atout considérable pour la candidature de Paris. Les initiatives qui enrichiront la proposition permettront à Paris de faire la différence

Dans ce cadre, le groupement d’intérêt public (GIP) Paris 2024 lance une démarche d’innovation intitulée “Smart Paris 2024”, animée par les sociétés Algoe et NUMA. L’approche du GIP Paris 2024 se veut ouverte et agile pour intégrer toutes les formes d’innovation. Le dossier de candidature n’est qu’une étape d’un processus d’innovation, qui s’accélérera jusqu’en 2024 (si Paris est élue ville hôte des Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2024), et se prolongera au-delà (héritage).

L’objectif principal de la démarche  “Smart Paris 2024” consiste à identifier, mobiliser et analyser tous les types d’innovations au service :

  • des publics et des participants aux Jeux (fonctions, usages et services offerts pour les athlètes, les spectateurs, les médias, les délégations, les partenaires et tous les habitants) ;
  • de la qualité des sites, des équipements et de l’organisation ;
  • de la mobilisation et de la participation des Françaises et des Français, au stade de la candidature, pendant la phase de préparation de l’événement et pendant les Jeux :
  • de la sécurité, de l’accessibilité et de la convivialité des Jeux ;
  • de l’héritage des Jeux : une empreinte environnementale, sociale et économique positive.

En s’adressant aussi bien aux start-ups, qu’aux PME en passant par les grands groupes et les associations du monde entier, “Smart Paris 2024” adopte donc une posture ouverte à tous les champs de l’innovation : mobilité, sécurité, environnement, sport, retail, urbanisme, loisirs, expérience spectateurs, tourisme, collaboration… pour faire de ces Jeux un événement mondial hors du commun et un vecteur de développement des territoires. Pour plus d’informations sur les champs d’innovation, visitez notre page Thèmes.

 

UN CALENDRIER

Toute cette démarche d’innovation s’intègre dans le calendrier de la procédure de candidature aux Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2024 :


LES PARTENAIRES OFFICIELS